This summer, Birmingham is hosting the Commonwealth Games. As part of the celebration of culture that is happening due to the games, Birmingham City Council is re running a “Cook the Commonwealth” project, where we are collecting recipes from the 60+ commonwealth countries. These will be widely shared on a recipe app Whisk alongside a campaign encouraging people to get cooking!

We need lots of people to contribute recipes which they feel celebrate a particular Commonwealth country – whether this is a traditional recipe or a fresh take! We are particularly interested in recipes that are delicious, nutritious, and low in fat, salt, and sugar. Recipes should be able to be cooked in a home (i.e. not too cheffy!) and use ingredients which are relatively easy to source in the UK. This is a great opportunity to celebrate both good food and the diversity of our city (and beyond!).

If you can contribute a recipe which you feel celebrates a Commonwealth country, please either:

  1. Make the recipe on Whisk yourself and email us the link (and which country the recipe represents) at [email protected]  (This instruction video may help). Please let us know in your email if you are happy for the recipe to be tweaked to improve the health score if required.
  2. Fill in this Microsoft form to send the recipe to us directly.

Looking forward to seeing your recipes!

Commonwealth Countries:

Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kingdom of eSwatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania

Caribbean and America: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Falkland Islands, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Lucia, St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands

Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka

Pacific: Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, Niue, New Zealand, Norfolk Island, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu

Europe: Cyprus, England, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Malta, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales